Angels

IMG_1813

Do you believe in angels?

I do and I always have.  For years I have collected angel figurines and have them on display in my room (Matt hates this – he thinks they are watching him).

Maybe Matt is right and the angels are watching him.  I know they have been watching over all of us lately.

Alabama’s song, “Angels Among Us,” has been a favorite of mine for as along as I can remember.  It’s beautiful message acknowledges that angels are not just ethereal beings, but also may be the people we come in contact with everyday.

Right now my family and I are surrounded by angels.

I believe the doctors trying to figure out what is going on with Brian are angels.  They refuse to take anything at face value and are doing what they can to ensure a better way of life for my tiny human.

I believe our friends and family are true angels for all the support they are showing us financially, emotionally and physically.  We are lucky to have some of the greatest friends in the world and I hope I can live up to the example they are setting.  Our family, immediate and extended, never cease to amaze me.  I am not trying to be sappy when I say I do not know what I would do without them, any of them.

And today, I am thankful and blessed to be supported by the angels of the Fraternal Order of Police in Philadelphia.

When Matt and I married, his sergeant at the time (who introduced us), spoke at our reception about the merging of families.  He pointed out that we weren’t just joining the Sweeney and Morgan families together, but that I was also now a member of the police family.  Naively, I thought he meant just Phoenix.  I now know just how strong the “Blue Family” is.

Across the many miles, the FOP in Phoenix and Philadelphia have offered their support, and as hard as I try, I cannot find the words to thank them and everyone else in our lives properly.

Thank you for reaffirming my belief in angels.  Thank you for supporting a family you know or were just introduced to.  Thank you for checking in on us.  Thank you for the hugs.  Thank you for your love.

Thank you, God, for sending your angels.

IMG_1811

One thought on “Angels

  1. Beautifully written, beautiful story, beautiful picture of Brian. It’s so great to see him so happy and his contagious smile. I think you, Erin, are feeling better today as well. I am glad for how you feel as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

