Educating Addi: Learning and Living with Brian

My name is Addi and I am 8 years old. I also have a chronic illness, it’s called Little Brother Syndrome or LBS for short. It began just 4 months shy of my 4th birthday. The symptoms came on quite suddenly when mommy came home with Brian on Christmas Eve 2012. Soon I experienced a lack of attention, sudden feelings of nausea, and an acute pain in my butt.


Over the last few years I have learned to manage the symptoms with a steady diet of complaining to mommy and liquid prozac (ice cream). At times my symptoms completely disappear when mommy takes Brian to the Philadelphia Children’s Hospital. The hardest side effect to control though is missing my mommy. She has to leave weeks and sometimes months at a time with Brian while he receives treatment. As I have said before, I wish Brian didn’t have all of these problems. There isn’t a medication out there that helps me miss my mommy less. 

I love my brother Brian very much so I don’t want him to suffer. I also don’t want him to have any more problems because sometimes he gets all of the attention. Sure, my daddy and I go out to eat and watch the Cubbies while they are gone, but I still miss my mommy. At least I can read the box scores, understand how the baseball game works, I know the cities and mascots for most of the National league, and I know what a can of corn and a dinger are. I also know that when my daddy yells out “that ball was bryzzoed!” that Kris Bryant or Anthony Rizzo hit a bomb.  

I help my daddy with Pippa, the little girl we babysit and try to make my bed. I can fix my own hair now so daddy doesn’t mess it up anymore. I try to be good but I guess I can be a pain in the butt too sometimes.

It is hard enough having to learn and live with LBS but even harder to see my little brother suffer. When mommy has to chase him around the house to check his blood or give him a shot I feel sorry for him. I don’t think I want to have to watch mommy hold him down while they take blood either.

I love my baby brother very much and I love my mommy too. I hope she can get him fixed soon. I know they have to go back again in October so I hope it will be a short trip. Until then I will appreciate the time with mommy this summer, go to swim and dance lessons, and do my best to manage my symptoms. It is hard though with Brian running around yelling “chicken butt!” every time I try to speak or messing up my dollhouse, or hitting me, or not playing right, or splashing me in the tub, or well, you get the picture.

Addison Morgan

2nd grade

2017 LBS survivor

Leave a Reply

